Sustainability Council

Main Content

Sustainability Council

The Sustainability Council at Southern Illinois University provides recommendations and advice related to sustainability policies for the SIU campus. The Council is composed of nine members: three students, three faculty, and three staff, who are committed to advancing sustainability efforts on campus. Members apply to serve on the Council where they guide the vision of sustainability for SIU and make decisions regarding Green Fee distribution.

Students serve one-year terms while faculty and staff terms are two years.

All members are expected to attend every Sustainability Council meeting. Meetings are generally scheduled one time per month during the academic year. In addition, there are other committee responsibilities. Note that all students serve on the Green Fund Committee, which includes an extensive time commitment. Former Green Fund Committee student members have commented, however, that the skills developed as a part of this commitment are invaluable.

The Sustainability Council has filled all positions for fall 2018. Interested students, faculty, and staff are welcome to attend a Sustainability Council meeting to determine if they would like to apply and can submit an application at any time for future consideration. The Council expects at least one student position to open to start in the spring 2019 semester.   

The STUDENT membership application is available here. Students from any area of study are welcome to apply!
The FACULTY membership application is available here.
The STAFF membership application is available here.
Completed membership applications should be emailed to with "Sustainability Council Application" in the subject line.

The fall 2018 meeting schedule is as follows:

  • August 24
  • September 21
  • October 26
  • November 16
  • December 7

Note: all council meetings will be held in Morris Library, Rm 752 at 10 a.m.

The Council’s Operating Papers can be found here

Council Members

Name Membership Department Term Began/Begins
Connie Kaniewski   Undergraduate Student Geography & Env. Resources Fall 2018
Makenzee Loft Undergraduate Student Geography & Env. Resources Spring 2018
Dylan Gibson   Graduate Student Geography & Env. Resources Fall 2018
Leslie Duram   Faculty Geography & Env. Resources 2013; Fall 2017
Tao Huang Faculty Art and Design Spring 2016; Fall 2018
Shannon McDonald  Faculty Architecture Fall 2016; Fall 2018
Sally Wright Staff Recreational Sports and Services Fall 2016; Fall 2018
Vacant   Staff Vacant Fall 2017
Betsy Bishop Staff Student Health Services Fall 2017

Note: If there are two dates listed under "Term Began," the first refers to the first appointment on the council and the second refers to the start of the member's most recent term.

sustainability council members

Fall 2018 Sustainability Council Members, left to right: Geory Kurtzhals - Sustainability Coordinator, Shannon McDonald, Makenzee Loft, Sally Wright, Dylan Gibson, Tao Huang, Leslie Duram, Connie Kaniewski. (Absent: Betsy Bishop).